Kinesio taping & Compressport

I think I already wrote about recovery.

But here three things that I tried so far:

  • Kinesio Taping: this is the solution that I used in 2014 to recovery from a tendinitis over my knee (video). I know that sound a little homemade… but I’ve to tell you. It works. The principle is that the tape lift the skin to bring more oxygen and blood to recover fast from injury. The secret is to understand a bit how the muscles are placed in order to pull or stretch the tape where necessary. In that case it helped even to lift a bit the patella. But in general, for muscles (I used a lot for quads) is perfect. Here what I’m using right now –> vastus medialis —> Vastus lateralis and quads in general.
  • Compressport: I always hated this solution. I tried to run with these comprising things… I never got used to… I hated… But this brand offered me a 20% discount from my health assurance. And I gave it a shot. Now… I simply cannot run whit these things.. I want the freedom on my legs.. And sorry Compressport to me it’s to difficult to focus on running or biking with something that is compressing me like a hell. BUT! I tried for recovery… and… magically… it works! I have the feeling that keeping it just after the training the recovery is really better. I tried even to keep it during the night. And it works. But one thing! DO NOT USE it when you have the kinesio taping on! because they are doing the opposite! So the suggestion is to put the compressing stuff just after the training , I would say 2/3 hours (don’t worry if you have the kinesio on). When you go to bed take off the compressing thing and leave the kinesio tape works for you. It will bring the blood and the oxygen during the night to recovery any strain or inflammations.

It’s a bit tricky and maybe it doesn’t work for everybody (I still have the feeling that is quite “subjective”…) but again… this was my personal experience!

If you have any doubt on Kinesio or Compressport (I just tried this brand), like I was me… I can give you a suggestion. Try it! On ebay you can find cheap kinesio tapes for less than 20$ and for the compressport just try to save a bit of money to try at least the calfs compress solution (the cheapest one, but I would say the most effective one for runners and triathletes )

This entry was posted in Senza categoria, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment